New 50 Questions Post!

Hey guys! So Josh and I thought that it was time to put up a new 50 Questions post this time including my answers as well! Hope you get a kick out of reading some more personal stuff about weirdos like us haha.

183945_10150235004848204_5396277_n

Because Josh made me pick a picture and I like this picture. That’s why this picture haha. Plus it represents our height difference pretty accurately XD.

1. Who is your favorite male anime character?

R: RIDER (Fate/Zero) all day. I want to marry him and have his babies. I feel like I’ve mentioned this on the blog before.

J: I’d have to say it’s a three-way tie, depending on the circumstances: Kamina (TTGL), Light (Death Note), and Shinji (Evangelion). Araragi (Bakemonogatari) comes in close second though, and might eventually become one of my favorites depending on how the Monogatari series plays out.

2. Who is your favorite female anime character?

R: Hmm this one is a little bit harder. I think I’d have to go with Rosette Christopher from Chrno Crusade. Not only is she a total badass, but she’s also extremely likable and her plus Chrno are one of my favorite anime couples ever.

J: Definitely Holo (Spice and Wolf). She’s just all-around great.

3. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

R: I actually really like the Psycho-Pass soundtrack.

J: Really tough. Probably would have to go with anything by Shinichiro Watanabe (Samurai Champloo, Kids on the Slope, Cowboy Bebop, Space Dandy). Otherwise, I’ve grown really fond of some of the songs from the newer JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure OST. I’ve also fallen in love with Ling Tosite Sigure’s stuff (from Psycho-Pass).

4. What is your favorite anime opening?

R: White Destiny (Pretear).

J: Tada Hitori (Ping Pong the Animation) and Aoi Shiori (Anohana) come in tied for this.

 5. What is your favorite anime closing?

R: Probably the closing from Kemono no Souja Erin.

J: Kimi ni Matsuwaru Mystery (Hyouka) and Days of Dash (Sakurasou). Roundabout (JoJo) comes in as a close second.

6. What is your favorite anime scene?

R: My favorite anime scene is from the ending of Blood+ where you think that Haji has died, but then it turns out he managed to survive and had been visiting Saya in her sleep. (As evidenced by the ribbon he leaves behind tied to a pink rose.)

J: Probably the ending of TTGL (the new Lagann-hen version), where Simon is fighting the anti-spiral and just MATERIALIZES A DRILL OUT OF HIS OWN BLOOD. Plus the entire 12-minute leadup to that.

7. If you could meet any anime character, who would it be?

R: Rider (Fate/Zero). Definitely Rider. I want to marry him and have his babies.

J: Holo (Spice and Wolf) – she’d be fascinating to talk to. Maybe Senjougahara (Bakemonogatari) if I was feeling masochistic.

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

R: I don’t know, but Josh said I should “pick a character who is indecisive and dumb :p”.

J: It depends a lot on where I am at the time. Araragi (Bakemonogatari) is probably the closest in terms of overall bearing, and Bolin (Legend of Korra, if that’s allowed to count) in terms of mannerisms. I also see a lot of myself – both good and bad – in Sora (No Game No Life).

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

R: Hmm probably the variety of story lines that you don’t typically see in Western shows.

J: Wincest – all day every day. Although in all seriousness, probably the diversity of the medium. Anime covers a lot of stuff.

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime

R: Fanservice. It is so stupid and annoying and often ruins shows for me.

J: I have a love-hate relationship with the heavy emphasis on tropes, which can serve either as a debilitating crutch or as a fascinating point of entry that allows anime to explore a wide range of other issues.

11. Who is your favorite anime couple?

R: Rosette x Chrno (Chrno Crusade) all day.

J: Holo x Lawrence (Spice and Wolf) and Urabe x Tsubaki (Mysterious Girlfriend X).

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

R: Mokona! (Not sure if he counts, but I think he does.)

J: Catgirls.

13. What anime would make a good game?

R: Don’t know enough about video games to comment.

J: Probably one of Miyazaki’s movies. I could easily imagine a JRPG-like version of Spirited Away working really well.

14. What game would make a good anime?

R: See above.

J: Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney. I’d love to see that shit. Also, Black Lagoon would make a really interesting game I think.

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

R: I think it was Chobits, although I did watch bits and pieces of Sailor Moon before that.

J: Excluding things like Pokemon, Death Note.

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

R: Probably once I have kids. Not sure I want to expose them to that XD.

J: I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon!

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

R: Right now? Probably shounen.

J: Always hard to tell. Probably things that are the “DEEP and MEANINGFUL” type.

18. What is your least favorite genre of anime?

R: Does Yuri/Yaoi count?

J: Shoujo. Extremely manufactured drama tends to bug me.

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

R: Eh. Not so much. No one really suspects that I would watch it so it never comes up.

J: Completely! My room is also decorated in merchandise, so the secret’s out as soon as anyone drops by.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

R: Nope. I’d really like to though! Josh and I have talked about going together some time soonish.

J: Yes! I was there last summer doing astronomy research.

21. What anime was the biggest let down for you?

R: Seirei no Moribito definitely. I wrote an entire post about how I really wanted to like the show and just couldn’t.

J: Tsuritama. I came in expecting something really excellent and came away feeling like I just watched a show screaming “FRIENDSHIP IS GREAT” superimposed on a fantastic setting and color palette.

22. What anime was better than expected?

R: Yakitate Japan!! surprised me a lot actually. I thought it was going to be idiotic, and it is, but in a good way haha.

J: Tiger & Bunny. I expected it to really suck based on the descriptions and artwork, and ended up really enjoying it.

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

R: actually thought the fight scenes in Kill La Kill were pretty cool, can’t pinpoint which was the best though.

J: TTGL‘s ending scenes, probably. If we’re talking in general, I’d also throw in stuff from Kill La Kill and JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure.

24. Who is your anime husbando/waifu?

R: As I mentioned before, Rider and I are a thing and I’m going to have his gorgeous ginger babies.

J: I’m not as rabid as I used to be, so I don’t really have a waifu at the moment. In the past, however, my waifus have been (in approximate order): Haruhi (Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya), Yuki (same), Mizore (Rosario + Vampire), Ami (Toradora!), Saber (Fate/Stay), Rin (same), Subaru (Mayo Chiki!), Horo (Spice and Wolf), Toph (Avatar: The Last Airbender), Kuroneko (OreImo), Urabe (Mysterious Girlfriend X), Yuno (Future Diary), Nobuna (Oda Nobuna), Rika (Chu2koi), Asuka (Evangelion), Charlotte (Infinite Stratos), Laura (same), and Ayase (OreImo). While not nearly as intense, more recently I’ve gotten into Morgiana (Magi) and Onodera (Nisekoi).

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

R: Does The Sims count? I was totally obsessed with that game until my sister destroyed my 7 generation family.

J: Pokemon Blue. Team Blastoise all day.

26. Most embarrassing moment?

R: Only one? XD. Oh jeez, so I was having a conversation with a classmate in high school Latin class and the teacher chimed in all of a sudden. Without thinking, I accidentally told him to shut up–like I would if another classmate had interrupted the conversation. It was only after a few moments that I realized who I had just told to shut up. I was mortified. Luckily I apologized profusely and didn’t actually get into any serious trouble (I’d had the teacher for 3 years already at that point, which probably helped).  Then there was the time I agreed to start dating some loser named Josh…

J: Back in middle school, some girl made fun of me in gym class (for good reason – I was being dumb). I got angry and tried to get back at her by insulting her grades (my logic was a “she was good at sports and therefore probably got bad grades” type of thing). Turns out she had straight A’s. I also ended up saying this within earshot of the teacher, who scolded us. I was absolutely ashamed of myself afterwards, but by the time I mustered up the courage to apologize (a few weeks later), she actually ended up moving. I never saw her again. It was a huge formative experience: the shame afterwards led to me really cracking down on the entire idea of stereotypes, making assumptions, judging people, etc., and is something that’s stuck with me since.

27. Can you drive?

R: Indeed! My mom made me get my license asap so I could drive my sisters around.

J: Yes.

28. Are you mature?

R: Umm I’d say so, but I think Josh would disagree.

J: In general, I’d probably say so.

29. What year were you born?

R: 1994

J: 1993. Fun fact: Rebecca and I actually have the same birthday, one year apart. It made for an interesting revelation on our first date.

30. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

R: Definitely cats. Dogs are too slobbery and smelly for me.

J: Cats.

31. Describe yourself physically.

R: I’m quite short–about 5’1–and I have messy brown curly hair, I’m white, but you probably could have guessed that. There are a few pictures of me on my other blog if you’re actually curious.

J: Half-Asian half-Caucasian. Around 6′ 0″ and quite thin (118±5 lbs. or so). I have black hair and brown eyes and wear glasses. I always wear this thing orange jacket around (even during the summer), which tends to make me quite recognizable.

32. What would you name your first child?

R: Oh jeez. I’m SO not ready to think about children yet, let alone naming them. Ask me this again when I’m pregnant.

J: I’ll think about it when it comes up. Maybe something astronomy, anime, and/or video game-related.

33. What is the worst injury you have ever had?

R: Broke my arm a few years back.

J: Had a collapsed lung a few years back. It refused to heal on its own, and I ended up being hospitalized for about a week and getting surgery. Not the best experience.

34. What is your worst habit?

R: My worst habit is apologizing all the time. I’m always worried that I’ve said or done something wrong and tend to apologize profusely even when it isn’t necessary.

J: I have two here. I have horrible posture, and I’ll probably end up with back problems if I keep sitting the way I do all the time (think L, but more contorted). The second is my tendency to stare off into the distance when I talk to people rather than making any sort of eye contact, which tends to unsettle a lot of people until they get used to it.

35. Do you drink or smoke?

R: Nope.

J: No.

36. Do you have a tattoo?

R: Nope.

J: No, although I really like the idea of a squirrel on my inner thigh reaching upwards towards my…

37. Are you a morning person or a night person?

R: I’m actually more of an afternoon person, but night works if I have to choose between the two.

J: Night owl, 100%.

38. Have you ever slept past midday?

R: Yep! It doesn’t happen often though.

J: Often.

39. Do you regret anything?

R: Many, many things. Too many to count or name. I try not to dwell on them too much though.

J: Not a lot, actually. I’m generally pretty constructive, so most things that are “negative” I try and view more positively as a learning experience. I also am a hermit, and tend not to make many decisions I feel I’d regret. If there’s anything I’d regret though, it’s probably my general lifestyle. I tend to be pretty introverted, so I don’t meet, befriend, and/or keep in contact with many people. Although I don’t think I will, there’s a chance I might regret that in the future.

40. Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

R: Hmm in terms of close friends, yes. In terms of more casual acquaintance-y friends, no.

J: Close friends? No – although they do fit on two.

41. Do you wear glasses?

R: Nope.

J: Yep!

42. Are you a picky eater?

R: Very picky. Josh always makes fun of me because of how limited my diet is. In my ideal world I would be able to gain all my nutrients from sour gummy worms and cereal.

J: Used to be, but now I’m actually quite open about most food.

43. Would you die for someone?

R: Not sure. I wouldn’t know unless the situation came up–hopefully it never does.

J: I really have absolutely no idea until I have to make that choice.

44. If you could have any super¬power, what would it be?

R: Hmm, how about regeneration/rapid healing? I’m such a spazz it would be nice to have all my various cuts and scrapes heal up instantaneously.

J: Since I don’t want to list things that are clearly overpowered, I’d probably go for immortality in the form of control over your own body. Or essentially the ability to live forever and in whatever form you choose, so long as you will it.

45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

R: Nope.

J: No.

46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

R: Definitely rich. I’m quite shy so the limelight holds no appeal for me.

J: Rich. Having money is always is nice.

47. Have you ever committed a crime?

R: Hmm I accidentally stole a pair of earrings once. They actually got caught on the hood of my jacket and I found them when I got home. I call it stealing since I never returned them.

J: I stole Yu-Gi-Oh! cards once (although I felt so guilty I returned them the next day). And there’s online piracy. But nothing more serious.

48. Time traveller or ghost?

R: Time traveler definitely.

J: Time traveler.

49. Does someone have a crush on you?

R: Not that I know of. There definitely have been people in the past, although that usually ended once they found out I have a boyfriend.

J: Nope.

50. Are you in a relationship?

R: Yep! I’m actually in a polyamorous relationship with Netflix, Pinterest, sushi, and Josh.

J: What she said. Except my other relationships are with astronomy and anime.

8 responses to “New 50 Questions Post!

  1. Do not say Shoujo is manufactured. I recommend reading manga for that field. The same with Yuri/Yaoi.

    Charlotte, Asuka, Nobuna, Rin, Laura, Mizore… Why am I starting to think that you’re the submission type, the one prefer to be dominated (in a tender way)?

    • Don’t worry – both of us have seen (I’ve also read) a fair amount of shoujo, so it’s not a completely uninformed opinion lol. In almost any show, drama has to be manufactured somehow – otherwise the show ends up like Mahouka where the MC just has all the answers. In terms of what exactly the conflicts are – and how those get set up and resolved – I often find shoujo is pretty weak and intensely formulaic.

      I will definitely admit I have a thing for tsunderes (and more recently yanderes). BUT THAT DOESN’T MEAN I LIKE THEM OR ANYTHING B-BAKA.

  2. @Josh: You stole Yu-Gi-Oh! cards? *raises eyebrow. I’m half tempted to know which ones you wanted. But it’s good that you returned them. :P
    Also, nice to know that you’re an Avatar fan. Excited for the new season?
    @Rebecca: Rider is awesomeness personified. Rosette is a pretty cool character too.
    Thanks for sharing- felt like I learned a lot more about you two!

    • Definitely! Legend of Korra is overall a fantastic show, and the new season so far looks like it’s shaping up to be really nice just based on the writing in the first three episodes. LoK really knows how to effectively mix dual storylines and thematic parallels/contrasts with effective character foils.

  3. Do you mean the first or second closer to Beast Player Erin? I think I preferred the first, the second one I loved more in association to the show than anything else.

  4. I almost forgot about you guys. (Sorry :P)

    Popped on the site and see the 50 questions things and couldn’t help but read. Makes it more interesting reading two at the same time.

What do you think?

