My First Guest Post: A ‘The Wind Rises’ Review / Updates

A little while back, I attempted to write my first guest post on Draggle’s blog. I was (and still am!) hanging around Japan, and since I was planning to see both Miyazaki’s and Otomo’s new films The Wind Rises and Short Peace, respectively, I thought I could try writing up reviews for the films. Well, Kylaran ended up writing a very good review of Short Piece before I could get around to it, so I thought I could tackle the former! My post can be found here. It’s not my best writing, but I think I managed to get my feelings across. Any and all comments are welcome!

The Wind Rises

On the non-blogging side, I’ve been traveling around China and now Japan for the last week or so, preceded by a really intense week at work, which is why I’ve been a bit MIA around here. It’s been a great experience so far, and now that things have begun to settle down a bit I’m hoping to start up blogging again! At the moment I’m working on finishing up my recollections of my time in Kyoto, after which I’m hoping to talk about some of the other stuff I’ve done during my time here that I think are important enough to mention but not enough to fill up standalone posts. My thoughts about my time in Akihabara (and by extension Ikebukuro and Nakano Broadway) are still stewing around, but I hope eventually to talk extensively about my thoughts concerning anime culture here.

On the blogging side, I’ve opened up my posts for likes again! Hopefully the embargo worked; otherwise, screw it – I like having an alternative method of feedback besides comments, and one spam follower isn’t enough to make me get rid of the feature.

What do you think?

