Might as Well Hop On the 50 Questions Train, Even if it has Probably Left the Station

During another one of my many periods of lurking and scouring anime blog archives, I came across a 50 Questions post (thanks to Ace Railgun for the original!) on Windyturnip’s blog. After some thought, I decided I might as well do one of these posts as well to get myself out there.

Anime-related

1) Who is your favorite male anime character?

My tastes shift around as time progresses and so it’s hard to pin down a single favorite, but I can list my top 5-ish. Kamina from TTGL definitely is up there for his sheer manliness, as is Rider from Fate/Zero (if things keep going like they are, I soon might have to include Joseph Joestar on this list). Spike from Cowboy Bebop is probably my favorite all-around personality. Light from Death Note also possesses a certain charm in his fanatical devotion to his cause. Okabe from S;G is…well, MAD SCIENTIST. I also have to love Araragi from the -monogatari series for his quirky personality and wit.

I also have to have to admit I have this weird love-hate relationship with Shinji from NGE. I love everything his character is meant to embody while simultaneously hating the character himself.

2) Who is your favorite female anime character?

Once again, it’s hard to pin down, so I’ll just list the top 5. Asuka from NGE was always one of my favorites for her fiery (and of course slightly dysfunctional) personality. And you can’t list Okabe or Araragi without mentioning Kurisu and Senjougahara, who were just as great. I also really liked Haruka from FLCL and all the strange bag of adolescent angst she embodied (plus her guitar). Revy from Black Lagoon also ranks up there for being 110% badass.

3) What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

My tastes vary wildly, but I’d have to say some mixture of Cowboy BebopSamurai Champloo, and Kids on the Slope. Which all Watanabe Shinichiro anime, if that says anything.

4) What is your favorite anime opening?

A clash between old and new here. I love everything Egoist, and so both of Guilty Crown‘s OPs, My Dearest and The Everlasting Guilty Crown, top the list for newer stuff. I also have a thing for Tank! from Cowboy Bebop and Cruel Angel’s Thesis from NGE. I think FMAB‘s Again might round out the list here.

5) What is your favorite anime closing?

This one would’ve been difficult any time before Fall 2012Roundabout from JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure.

6) What is your favorite anime scene?

Probably the one with the most impact for me was the classroom scene from Toradora!, followed closely by the teddy bear costume and the fake wedding scenes.

7) If you could meet any anime character, who would it be?

I’d probably pick Kurisu from S;G. I feel like we’d make good conversation. Runners up would probably be Rider from F/Z and Hibito from Space Bros.

8) What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

Probably Araragi from Bakemonogatari. I’m just as absurd and twisted, but ultimately a nice guy (I’d like to think). You could probably splash a bit of Sorata (Sakurasou), Hibito (Space Bros), and Kyon in there. If we’re allowed to include tropes though, I’m much too often similar to the “bro of the main character who is there for comic relief and says the darnedest things” guy.

9) What is your favorite thing about anime?

The depth of the themes it deals with. It’s one of the main mediums (outside of cinema) that consistently deals with deep themes and ideas commonly found in literature. Live-action television shows I feel usually don’t achieve the same level of depth (although that doesn’t mean they’re not enjoyable). And anime’s ability to do this to such an extent is largely due to its use of animation as a medium, so there’s that too.

Also – WINcest.

10) What is your least favorite thing about anime?

Tropes. Lots of anime tries to pander to otaku (and is starting to cater a bit to fujoshi as well) and do merchandising, and resort to the same “tried and true” tropes, many of which become annoying after a while. These include obvious attempts to do nothing but “be moe”, gigantic racks, and harems with asexual leads, among others.

11) Who are your favorite anime couple?

I’ll have to list my top 5 again. Horo and Lawrence from Spice and WolfOkabe and Kurisu from S;GKyon and Haruhi from HaruhiAraragi and Senjougahara from Bakemonogatari, and Tsubaki and Urabe from MGX.

12) Who is your favorite anime animal?

Leaving out catgirls, I’d have to go with Ein from Cowboy Bebop. I can actually barely remember any others.

13) What anime would make a good game?

I think you could probably do a good job making an RPG/FPS based on Black Lagoon.

14) What game would make a good anime?

I have a feeling Portal could actually work. Otherwise, I think Bioshock: Infinite (at least based on what I’ve seen/heard so far) would be great.

15) What was the first anime you ever watched?

If we’re going way back, Pokémon. But if we’re talking serious “I know it’s anime and I’m consciously going to choose to watch it”, then it’s Death Note.

16) Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

Probably, but it probably won’t be until I largely stop watching TV and spending much of my free time on the internet. And all my real-life friends drop it as well (it’s one of the things that keeps us together since college).

17) What is your favorite genre of anime?

Hard to tell. Probably slice-of-life and drama.

18) What is your least favorite genre of anime?

Typical shoujo and shounen. I’m fine when the genre can do cool things (I mean, technically FMAB could be called shounen, as can Hunter x Hunter and JoJo; if you’re looking at shoujo look no further than Vampire Knight!), but the usual tropes are aggravating.

19) Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

Some would say too open, but I’m quite happy being the go-to guy who hopefully doesn’t give the medium a bad rep.

20) Have you ever been to Japan?

No, but I’ll (hopefully) be doing some astronomy research at the University of Tokyo over the summer, and have plans to tour around Japan with a friend in late August.

21) What anime was the biggest letdown for you?

The one in most recent memory would be Little Busters!. I don’t think I’ve ever been so disappointed in a Key title before.

22) What anime was better than expected?

Again, the one in most recent memory would be Sakurasou. I was expecting a harem-y romcom from the previews and was totally blown away by episode 3.

23) What is the best anime fight scene?

Probably the entire ending fight of TTGL between the Dai-Gurren Brigade and the Anti-Spirals. The fate of the Universe settled in a fist-fight – WHAT COULD BE MORE MANLY?!

I also am in love with the fight between JoJo and Straits in the Battle Tendency arc of JoJo. I died after the Tommy Gun and the scarf-grenades.

24) Who is your anime waifu?

Probably Horo from Spice and Wolf if we could have the same relationship she has with Lawrence. She’s just so much fun (and so witty).

25) What was your favorite video game as a child?

Pokémon Blue. Blastoise was an effing HOUSE. And actually pretty much the only Pokémon I ever used. I mean, he could not only learn Hydro Pump and Surf, but Ice Beam and Mega Punch. Water type all day, every day.

Me-related

26) Most embarrassing moment?

Probably middle school. Some girl made fun of me in gym class (for good reason – I was pretty bad), I got pissed and tried to get back at her by insulting her grades (my logic was a “she was good at sports and therefore probably got bad grades” type of thing). Turns out she had straight As. I also ended up saying this within earshot of the teacher. Was absolutely ashamed of myself, but by the time I wanted to apologize (a few weeks later), she ended up moving and I never saw her again. It was a huge formative experience though, the shame being enough to essentially destroy my conscious judgmental stereotyping. I’ve managed to avoid doing it (at least overtly) since. The impact this one experience had on me is also why I thought there might be something to Koko’s argument at the end of Jormungand.

27) Can you drive? Do you own a car?

Yep to the first, no to the second. One (good?) thing about divorces is you get an extra car, which meant I got to drive it around. Haven’t been using it as much since I’ve gone off to school out-of-state.

28) Are you mature?

Depends on what you mean. Physically, pretty much yes – I’m 19. Mentally, I’d say yes, although I have a lot of childish tendencies that haven’t really gone away. Not the usual nostalgic ones, e.g. “Pokémon is cool!”, “Coloring is cool!”, etc., but actual things that most 14+ people don’t really do anymore. Emotionally? I was a bit late, but I’d like to think so. So by most metrics yes.

29) What year were you born?

1993.

30) Do you prefer cats or dogs?

Cats. I want the companionship without all the activity. Quieter dogs work too.

31) Describe yourself physically.

Around 6′ 0″ and thin as a stick (120±5 lbs.). I have relatively short black hair and brown eyes. Half-Asian from my mom’s side (my dad is uber-white though). I always wear this orange sweatshirt/coat (even during the summer) which makes me quite recognizable.

32) What would you name your first child?

I’ll burn that bridge when I come to it.

33) What is the worst injury you have ever had?

Partially dislocated my shoulder. I know – I’m a sheltered kid.

34) What is your worse habit?

The way I sit. I always am hunched over my laptop in a position similar to L’s. It actually was the reason I watched Death Note in the first place – my friends were like “there’s a show where this guy sits just like you” and I got intrigued and stuff happened and here I am!

35) Do you drink or smoke?

No to both. I might eventually cave and drink socially though.

36) Do you have a tattoo?

No, although my best friend recently got one that looks badass. And he could probably convince me to get one if he tried really hard. If I ever got one though, it would probably be of a squirrel on my inner thigh reaching upwards towards my…

37) Are you a morning person or a night person?

I’m so much of a night person you’d have to define what “morning” means. Let’s just say the feeling of having to cover your face with a pillow because the sunlight streaming through your shades makes it hard for you to go to sleep is not the best place to be.

38) Have you ever slept past midday?

Yes. I actually had a whole month where I went completely nocturnal. It sucked, because two of my classes graded on attendance.

39) Do you regret anything?

I sometimes engage in wishful thinking about things I could’ve done differently, but ultimately no. I’ve done a number of dumb things, but I’ve always taken something away from them. I haven’t yet done something dumb which I’ve learned absolutely nothing from and hasn’t made me a “better” person.

40) Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

Yes. But I’m setting the bar quite high here – these are only the people I’ve kept in touch with on a regular basis since entering college, who I’d consider my closest friends.

41) Do you wear glasses?

Yes. And it’s quite bad (I believe I’m a -6.50), so I’m pretty blind without them.

42) Are you a picky eater?

I used to be, but my tastes have been expanding for the last couple years.

43) Would you die for someone?

I have no idea. I’d probably only find out if the situation ever arose.

44) If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

If we can invent our own, than probably controllable immortality. As in you can live forever at whatever age you choose and die whenever you want to. Barring that speed like the Flash’s (where he can move quickly and think quickly at the same time) or the ability to halt/slow down time (but not awareness). If we’re going for more conventional powers though, flight would be plenty for me.

45) Do you believe in the supernatural?

No. 

46) Would you rather be rich or famous?

Rich. I don’t care too much about reputation and whatnot – just enough money to pursue any and all interests for the rest of my life without worrying about how much it’ll cost.

47) Have you ever committed a crime?

Yes – albeit very minor ones. The worst I’ve ever done knowingly was steal a Yu-Gi-Oh! card. It tore me up for days afterwards, so that was the end of my crime spree (and the sad part was the card actually sucked – I hadn’t read the effect properly). Otherwise, I’ve unknowingly shoplifted an issue of Cosmo (yes – I read Cosmo. Best way to absolutely waste 30 minutes of your life. Plus the erotica is so bad it’s good).

48) Time traveler or ghost?

Time traveler, easy.

49) Does someone have a crush on you?

Nope. As far as I can tell, it’s always been the other way around. I’m as dense as a brick though (makes it a bit easier to empathize with male harem leads sometimes), so maybe.

50) Are you in a relationship?

Surprisingly – yes! AND she saw my room and didn’t dump me on the spot! ;)

Well, it took a bit longer than I expected, but that’s that. Feel free to ask me stuff in the comments, and hope you’ve all had a fantastic 2013 so far!

10 responses to “Might as Well Hop On the 50 Questions Train, Even if it has Probably Left the Station

  1. Great picks. Did you write this right after reading mine, or are our tastes just that similar?

    And for everybody’s sake, please don’t get that tattoo. Just imagine trying to explain that to someone twenty years down the road.

    • I did have yours for reference when I started out, but many of my top picks would’ve been pretty similar to yours regardless (I mean, my MAL says it all). We obviously have good taste in anime ;)

      Oh god that tattoo. One of my more brilliant ideas. No worries – I don’t think I’ll ever follow through on that one. Another idea in a similar vein to that one was to start up a strip club/pizza joint and call it “No Toppings”, which I’m sure would rake in the dough (huehuehue). I also wanted to start up a bar and call it the h-bar (after the reduced Planck constant), but it seems the University of Washington beat me to it, so there goes my multi-million dollar empire.

    • Peer pressure to the rescue once again! I’ll be interested to see your responses given the style of your posts and the arguments you’ve put forth so far.

  2. ROUNDABOUT ED OF THE YEAR ALL YEARS

    Yesss, Again has got to be my favorite FMA OP, followed by Rewrite. BONES knows how to do their OPs. I wouldn’t call FMA just “technically” shounen, though, especially Brotherhood. It is completely shounen; the difference is that it’s shounen done the way that it’s supposed to be done, i.e. it’s good. Same goes for Hunters and JoJo – though I think the latter has recently been recategorized as seinen because it is too awesome for children. (And of course this is speaking of the shounen “genre”, which is basically battle/action/adventure series aimed at the shounen demographic)

    >what game would make a good anime
    >not Phoenix Wright

    Which TTGL fight do you prefer – the one from the series or the movies? There is no wrong answer; they are both amazing.

    • >Phoenix Wright
      OBJECTION!

      >It is completely shounen
      Good point on FMA et al. – I guess I sort’ve saw them apart from shounen simply because there are so many shows in that genre that just don’t do it justice, and so I tended to elevate those that do to some special place above the rest.

      >Which TTGL fight do you prefer
      Oh god – they ARE both amazing. If I had to choose though, probably the movie.

  3. 8) What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

    Probably Araragi from Bakemonogatari.

    I won’t believe this until I see a photo of you groping a loli.

    • A little more seriously, so I read somewhere on your blog before that you study astronomy/astrophysics or something? And you got a paper published sometime? That’s really, really cool (and you’re only a year or two older than me, makes me feel like I might have a chance). If you don’t mind, I’d be curious to know what the paper was about. I’m studying science in my second year at the moment, and one of my subjects is pretty much reading and analysing a lot of journal articles, so I know how complex research studies can get and stuff. I think the biggest realisation I had from uni was the incredible depth of knowledge out there, and how little I knew compared with academics. Yeah so I think it’s awesome how you can get so in-depth with both science and literature.

      • Yes, I do: I’m double majoring in Astrophysics & Physics with a minor in East Asian Studies! And yea: I have one published and am in the process of submitting three more. Rather than describing the paper(s), I can actually just point you here, which is a collection of stuff I’ve done over the past few years since I’ve jumped around quite a bit. If you’re interested in more stuff regarding my current work, this older talk and poster do a pretty good job of describing the main points. Let me know if you have any questions or would like to talk about this more!

        Reading and analyzing journal articles is a great way to learn science! I’ve now done two independent studies (well, I’m currently doing a second one) that involve reading and discussing a variety of academic papers, and they’ve been extremely helpful in getting me thinking critically and learning, more or less, how science actually works. While research can get pretty complicated pretty quickly, I think you’ll find well-written papers present results in a way that makes them much more accessible. Which is really useful, since there’s so much research published now just digging through it all is extremely daunting. Like you said, there’s just a lot of stuff out there.

        And thanks! I think it’s been a good way to make sure I don’t get pigeonholed too quickly ;). And who says you can’t love both science and the humanities?

What do you think?

