12 Days of Anime: Day 9 – Sakurasou and a Shoutout to Hyouka!

Day 9: Sakurasou

On the ninth day of anime my waifu gave to me,
nine sleeping Shiina’s,
eight Furugoori’s,
seven cloudy hues,
six girls a-fawning,
five metal vessels!
four Riki routes…
three Jormungands…
two rockin’ Joestars
and a chu2 from KyoAni!

Sorata once again is defeated by the power of kittens.

Sorata once again is defeated by the power of kittens.

I’ve already ranted about Sakurasou a bit (it’s mostly nonsensical, but I was in the thralls of writing fever!), so I’ll just leave the link to my previous post for today. Since then, my opinion of the show has remained high, and I would encourage anyone who isn’t watching it to give it a try!

On a sidenote, as flawfinder mentionsHyouka deals with the same thing and does it spectacularly well (possibly even better, although I’ll withhold judgment until Sakurasou wraps up). It also might cover more ground, since there’s a lot of co-dependence stuff going on (see these comments) and it includes the perspective of the talented member (Oreki), rather than just the surrounding people covered by his shadow. There is no small love for Hyouka (or at least some talk of it) milling about on the anisphere as of late (and I liked the show, if that means anything), so maybe there is something to it.

2 responses to “12 Days of Anime: Day 9 – Sakurasou and a Shoutout to Hyouka!

  1. I think you’re probably the only person I’ve ever seen on the Internet who loves both Hyouka and Sakurasou as much as I do. For some reason, the fandom feels really mutually non-exclusive to me.

    Anyway, I really like the connections you’ve found between these two series. It’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. I feel like they both explore the same central idea of the “rose-coloured high school life” – and they execute that theme in completely different ways. They open and close with the same visual metaphor of the sakura petals, and they both take place over the span of one year. And they both tell us about how it feels to be a teenager.

    I hope you do another post exploring the link between these two series further! I’m a big fan of your Hyouka and Sakurasou posts, so I guess I’ll be following your blog regularly from today.

    • I think you’re probably the only person I’ve ever seen on the Internet who loves both Hyouka and Sakurasou as much as I do.

      Strangely enough, I still haven’t gotten around to finishing up Sakurasou. Given how much I loved the first half, I think I’ve held off on it because I’m afraid it won’t match up to my expectations at this point.

      As for many of the connections I’ve found, you should definitely head over to Random Curiosity to read Stilts’s posts on the series (if you haven’t already) – they’re wonderful and for the most part seem to be echoing my thoughts and concerns. Flawfinder from Standing on My Neck also discusses some of the Hyouka/Sakurasou parallels (but in a much more negative light).

      I’m definitely going to do some final monolithic post(s) comparing the two series and the messages they hold – I feel they both deserve that.

      And thanks for following! Always cool to get another reader and a new set of eyes on things :)

What do you think?

