12 Days of Anime: Day 7 – Psycho-Pass and the Many Faces of Akane

Day 7: Psycho-Pass

On the seventh day of anime my waifu gave to me,
seven cloudy hues,
six girls a-fawning,
five metal vessels!
four Riki routes…
three Jormungands…
two rockin’ Joestars
and a chu2 from KyoAni!

Voila to the cast

I find the concepts of Dominators to be quite interesting, and the answers the show (AKA Shinya) has given about their usage has lined up quite well with those Jormungand has tried to espouse. Regardless, gorgeous artwork!

So I don’t really have too much to say here. I’m liking the show so far – it has an interesting premise, a good cast of characters, and a good plot. If you’re looking for discussions on the series check out posts on Moe SucksRandom Curiosity, and The Cart Driver, although chances are you’re probably already following them.

Other than that, I’d like to just say that as far as I can tell, Psycho-Pass is a show that tries to deal with a lot of issues (mainly cyperpunk and dystopian stuff) that centers around one central question: What is it that makes us human? Which is a deep question mankind has been grappling with for some time (okay, for a really long time). Sartre once said that “man is condemned to be free” (emphasis mine), and the focus of Psycho-Pass is how to deal with this idea of freedom, responsibility, and safety in the context of modern-day technology and the melding of man and machine. It’s good stuff!

Now that the brief, serious part of this post is over with, I want to go out of my way to point out some of the awesome facial expressions our main heroine, Akane, makes over the course of the past couple episodes (in chronological order). Director Urobochi Gen says he’s not the biggest fan of moe, and these aren’t really moe, but I still find them pretty funny.

Episode 2: Aw, look how cute she is when she's slightly depressed!

Episode 2: Aw, look how cute she is when she’s slightly depressed!

Episode 3: Aw, look how cute she is when she's slightly pouting!

Episode 3: Aw, look how cute she is when she’s slightly pouting!

Episode 3: Aw, look how cute she is when she's smiling uncomfortably!

Episode 3: Aw, look how cute she is when she’s smiling uncomfortably!

Episode 6: Aw, look how cute she is when she's drunk!

Episode 6: Aw, look how cute she is when she’s drunk!

Episode 7: Aw, look how cute she is when admiring Shinya's abs!

Episode 7: Aw, look how cute she is when admiring Shinya’s abs!

Episode 9: Aw look how cute she is, embarrassed to go out on a pseudo-date with Shinya.

Episode 9: Aw look how cute she is when she’s embarrassed to go out with Shinya!

Episode 10: Aw, look at how cute she is when she's sleeping!

Episode 10: Aw, look at how cute she is when she’s sleeping! (Also, star-shaped pillow? What a boss.)

Episode 10: Just...what...I mean, it made sense in context, but still...

Episode 10: Aw, look at how cute she is when she…who am I kidding – this is just hilarious!

Oh Akane…
To be honest though, she’s not a bad character – as of now, she hasn’t done a ton in the series or really come into her own, but we’ve been seeing her character build up for a while thanks to her work in the MWPSB (pretty sure it stands for the Ministry of Welfare and Public Safety Bureau) and her interactions with Shinya. So I’m looking forward to see where she goes with this.

As a last aside: the OP and ED themes are awesome. Not only are they well named (“abnormalize” and “Namae no nai Kaibutsu [The Monster with No Name]”, respectively), they’re also great songs (or at least, I like them a lot). I’m a bit biased though, since I’m a huge fan of Egoist. For instance, although Guilty Crown wasn’t the best thing since BBQ sauce (which I might contend is the best thing invented since the dawn of time), I absolutely loved Egoist’s OPs for the show (the ED(s) were much more meh, but that’s a stylistic thing).

Can you believe we’re past the halfway point now? And look at how many people are involved in celebrating the 12 Days of Anime! Woohoo!

Note: All the photos have been taken from verdant‘s posts on Random Curiosity. 

4 responses to “12 Days of Anime: Day 7 – Psycho-Pass and the Many Faces of Akane

  1. The thematics of security, sociology and psychology are really interesting. There are a lot of things put in there, some of which I suspect aren’t intentional or conscious.

    As of the script I still don’t know if I like it. I’ll have to give it a second watch before I position myself.

    On the other hand Akane really doesn’t do enough to merit her title of main character. We see the world through her eyes and she’s very much the fish-out-of-water type so we can get some lazy exposition about the world, but Shinya is the real focus of the series.

    There are a few moments of good characterization though. I liked that scene when Akane goes to eat with a co-worker and gets drunk, or when she snaps at Gino in a very angry yet professional way. Those scenes told me a lot about her character and gave her dimension.

    PS: The “no-moe” rule makes absolutely no sense on a creative standpoint. I get they probably did it to attract a target audience and it had no real effect on production but what if they did have that stupid rule? I don’t know how to interpret the cute faces. Is it a deconstruction? That doesn’t seem to fit.

    • On the other hand Akane really doesn’t do enough to merit her title of main character.

      Well, as of now, yea (but man, the most recent episode indicates that this should be changing). But I’m fairly positive she’s going to at least play an important role, and that her and Shinya will end up as co-protagonists by the end of the series. The OP seems to imply it anyways.

      As of the script I still don’t know if I like it.

      Same.

      The “no-moe” rule

      I think you nailed the reason; I also found it kind of pointless. I appreciate the sentiment, but don’t really think it was necessary.

  2. Psycho Pass is NOT MOE.

    I just went and looked up all of Ling Tosite Sigure’s albums earlier today, actually. They’ve got a really unique sound that’s been growing on me the more I hear the OP.

What do you think?

